Cross current drag

(Gressak) #1

So i am relatively new to dragging, swinging, and skating flies.

I guess a lot of my focus has been on the drag free aspects of tenkara. Working to a natural presentation.

So…when there are fish around and that is not working…what to do???

Drag, swing, skate…

So it works, but I am trying to understand it all. When asked folk, they say it agitates the fish to strike. A friend explained to me…even though the profile is not of a fish… the motion is. Sort of like how salmon flies look like nothing natural and look like they were designed by Liberace. The idea is to bring attention to the motion not the profile or the natural representation of a natural forage. Sort of weird abstract concepts.

Like making a cat act like a dog…

On two specific occasions. I had a lot of fish feeding actively. Sucking off and breaking the surface…just porpoising. I could not identify the forage, but I assume it was small. My daughter and I fished for a while. We were using size 12 flies…we actually got several takes, but the fish were difficult to hook. It was a one and done sort of chance…then they just would not bother even inspecting the fly.

Finally right before we left, I sized down to a sparsely tied 14, one of the smaller patterns. I dead drifted a few times and could see a number of fish rise and refuse. Maddening. Then I started swinging and skating flies. That got them riled up but still refusing… I had one fish chasing after it and refusing it a number of times.