Any tips for a beginner on making hackles behave?

Today’s flies. I’m just learning. Mop fly looks a like it would be really good for catching a cartoon bugs bunny. Even so, I’m really liking the “Spagnum” color of Shetland Spindrift yarn. It has dark green & black fibers.

So can anyone share your best beginner tips for making the hackles look right? It’s hard to keep steady tension as I turn the feather; the hackle pliers like to fall off or break the stem; I don’t know when to stop; and rather than the nice, even sunburst you internet people make , my barbs clump together and just go wild.

3 Likes

There is nothing wrong with the hackles on the flies you have posted. They will catch. OK they won’t win prizes for the best tied fly. However, in my view, one ties a fly to catch fish. If it looks a bit ‘rough’ so what. It’s probably more appealing to a fish. How many times have you fished with a fly that has caught lots of fish and the fly looks in tatters, yet it still catches.
May I suggest you look at the many videos on YouTube. There are a lot of very good tiers out there. Find two or three you like and ‘subscribe’ to their videos.
If you watch Davy McPhail and Barry Orde Clarke. They are two of the best.

When tying keep it simple. When tying hackles don’t try and tie on too much hackle. Also manipulate the feathers whilst tying if they are not going the way you want. By that I mean wet them with your fingers - I always tie with a damp sponge in a dish nearby.
Also try a be ‘light fingered’ when holding the hackle pliers. It takes practice but can be done - even with the fattest of fingers!
Lastly just enjoy it. I have tied on and off for many years. These days I tie about half a dozen flies each day and dream about the fish each is going to catch :grinning:

Have Fun

David

6 Likes

Your hackles are what I STRIVE for!
What you see as uneven, or wild, I see as my best work because they flat out catch fish.